Pathfinder Northstowe

The Pathfinder

Church of England Primary School

The roots to grow, the path to follow and the wings to fly
Diocese of Ely Multi Academy Trust

Local Governing Body

Remit, Constitution and Means of Operation

The overall aim of any Governing Body is to support and challenge its school in order to effect improvements in the educational provision on offer.


In pursuit of this aim, the Governing Body's 4 core functions are:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, and strategic direction;
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • holding leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.
The LGB of The Pathfinder comprises:
  • up to 8 Members appointed by the Directors of the Diocese of Ely Multi-Academy Trust;
  • 2 Staff Members (elected by the staff community);
  • not less than 2 Parent Members (elected by the parent community);
  • the Headteacher;
  • the Incumbent 


The Local Governing Body meets 7 times a year, and operates as a whole; one business meeting, followed by half termly meetings.  Whilst it does not have committees for general business, working parties will, on occasion, be set up for specific short-term purposes.  Each governor has a portfolio of responsibilities, and monitors provision in relation to his/her designated areas, reporting back to the Local Governing Body. 


In addition to attending meetings of the Local Governing Body, our governors visit the school frequently for a variety of purposes, and are often to be seen at school events.  Once a year, all governors spend a full day in school. There are opportunities for parents to meet with the Chair of Governors on our Parent Consultation Evenings. At other times, please use the contact details below. 

Mr Adama Janocka

Chair of Governors

Mr Andrew Latchem

Vice Chair

Rev Beth Cope


Miss Jenn Taylor

Staff Governor

Mrs Stephanie Lockwood


Miss Georgina Mindham

Interim Deputy Headteacher

Mr Ian Marlow


Mrs Anna Bishop